
Named after John Audley who owned the property in the 16th century, Audley’s Castle, County Down dates from the middle of the previous century when constructed on a rocky site high above Strangford Lough. Still retaining its bawn wall, on the south side the building has two projecting towers linked at roof level by an arch. In 1646 the castle was sold to BernardWard family whose descendants in the 18th century, built a new residence – Castleward (see A Special Friendship « The Irish Aesthete) – after which this building became a picturesque feature of the demesne at the end of a long canal.
